← Back to context

Comment by mananaysiempre

5 years ago

> Are there any mechanisms for limiting how much of one's life an author signs away to their project (without feeling compelled to grow an operation) while still retaining an Open Source designation?

For distribution repacks specifically, there’s the old device of providing a configuration-time option to change the web and email addresses in the documentation (e.g. GCC does this), but I’m not sure if this will work when Google results for the error message will still point you to the upstream. There’s also the bug report checklist with “I have verified I am running the last development version”, but that comes with its own limitations.