Comment by 13of40
4 years ago
It's kind of a weird situation we're in with this. Facebook and Google track your location by default and you can go back and look where you've been on a map. I used it to figure out the details of an automated traffic ticket I got on a trip to Europe a couple of years back, so it's not totally useless from a consumer perspective, but it's still creepy. So you opt out, but "location services" keeps tracking you and sending your location data (as represented by the SSIDs and signal strength around you) but not telling you you're being tracked. So you opt out of that, and all the sudden you're subject to a bunch of dark patterns insisting you need to enable it again, even though it's perfectly capable of just using the GPS and keeping everything on the client. I'm glad my life isn't interesting enough for it to matter, I guess.
No comments yet
Contribute on Hacker News ↗