Comment by antisthenes
3 years ago
Technically, all the bookmarks you have are hibernating tabs.
There's a whole spectrum of activity you can have on a tab, and to me I see really no difference between "unhibernating" a tab and just reloading it from scratch.
Either one is very slow in modern crap software.
Unless it happens under 150ms, it is slow.
I would expect thawing a tab to present me with the tab as it was last time I saw it, no reload; whereas, being a link, I'd expect a bookmark to load the current version.
... Actually the latter is incorrect, in truth I'd expect bookmarks to present me with the exact version I had in front of me back when I bookmarked it, including if the site is temporarily down, has vanished, or if I navigated a more recent version.