← Back to context

Comment by mcmcmc

21 hours ago

This is a problem everywhere, Apple does the same thing on MacOS by reverting privacy/security grants to apps

Reverting... to on? I've seen some stuff in Apple-land where I'm pretty sure it went back to the default option after an update but I've never seen anything get granted more permissions.

  • No, like specific apps that have been granted full disk access etc lose their permissions. It’s hell for IT, constantly breaks AV. I would not characterize that as reverting to a default. More often it’s a breaking change for how the security model works that ends up requiring reauthorization

    • The alternative would be keeping a permission granted for an app that might have had an update introducing nefarious behavior, whether intentional or not.

      Annoying yes, but least bad.

    • Ah, sure, it's annoying but it's never giving new permissions you didn't give it before. And yes "revert to default" is probably not what's happening, but reverting to forcing a specific permission grant when the existing one was superceeded or replaced.

      2 replies →