← Back to context

Comment by cm2187

5 hours ago

So you delete a file by mistake and it replicates within seconds? Not exactly a backup. And a malware will do that to all of your files.

Yes, but I setup syncthing's file versioning to 25, in case of keepass, for example. Also, I set it up that only my PC can send, all other PCs, smartphones, can only receive. Sure, there are still many ways to attack this system, but I still prefer it.

  • As long as you have different credentials on all of your machines. I have witnessed first hand that once a malware infects a machine, any machine with shared credentials in the vicinity is infected within seconds.