Comment by soraminazuki
4 hours ago
User data shouldn't be silently deleted just because you think they aren't worthy enough. Especially when the name of the feature, persistent undo, and the docs explicitly promise that the edit history will be preserved.
The user data in question lies in ~/.cache, which is a directory for files that aren’t meant to last long.
That's completely false and also irrelevant to the point I made. Even if true, it doesn't justify deleting user data in direct conflict with what the docs say.
https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=49869740