Comment by anentropic
5 days ago
> One of the things I dislike about Claude is sometimes it's memory is all-encompassing. It's weird that it brings up things about my personal life when I'm talking about something related to my business
Do you use 'projects' in Claude?
I had the impression they provided discrete memory profiles on top of the shared one
They have, which is a different challenge in itself. Memories are nowhere near a solved problem.
For example, with Claude, I have an "operations" project that naturally grew to cover daily use of shared family calendar, sweeping my mail inbox, and my current personal todo lists, but also a lot of the latter made it deal with my Home Assistant instance. I have separate project for specific things to do with Home Assistance (e.g. one that's about "life support" - HVAC controls, dashboards, monitoring, etc.), one about phone specifically (front-loaded with dumps of specs of my phone's hardware, OS, etc.). Each of them has its distinct set of memories accumulated over months.
And so every couple sessions, I hit a situation in which the agent has to interact with tools and rulebooks that are focus of a different project, and it fumbles a lot. E.g. HA Life Support needs to add some tasks to the todo list, or the Ops project needs to look up climate stats for some reason or other, etc. In these moments, I really wish project memories could mix - but they can't, the boundary is high.
The most annoying case is when I tell Claude that it's wrong, and we literally worked out a solution (or consensus on ethics) in a recent conversation - and then it spends couple minutes looking through past history, burning a chunk of my 5-hour limit, only to come back empty. Yep, that conversation happened in another project. *sigh*
[flagged]
Not sure how it works in Claude, but ChatGPT projects certainly leak memories between each other.
Not true. When you create a new ChatGPT Chat project you decide whether it shares its memory/files with the rest of the workspace or if it should be fully isolated.
TIL. There is indeed a switch in the settings, which for me is set to "default memory".
Not sure if it always asked for this and I just forgot, I made all my current projects back when the feature was new.
2 replies →