Comment by cstrahan
1 year ago
> This is defaulted to toggling on.
You actually meant to say “this is the option that is given focus when the user is prompted to make a decision of whether to share data or not”, right?
Because unless they changed the UI again, that’s what happens: you get prompted to make a decision, with the “enable” option given focus. Which means that this is still literally opt-in. It’s an icky, dark pattern (IMO) to give the “enable” option focus when prompted, but that doesn’t make it any less opt-in.
I don't remember being given this option either (as the sibling said). I do remember a window popping up at some point, but it was either one that popped up while I was clicking/typing elsewhere, and the typing made it disappear, or it was a window that showed up as a "here's what's new" modal that only had one button.
Either way, they definitely didn't get my informed consent, and I'm someone who reads all the update modals because I'm interested in their updates.
I was never given this option.