Comment by efskap

14 hours ago

The app actually is notified after the screenshot is taken: https://developer.apple.com/documentation/uikit/uiapplicatio...

Android does it too: https://developer.android.com/about/versions/14/features/scr...

This prevents us from taking scrolling screenshots (a native feature in many smartphones today that is often useful when there is more than one screen of content).

I dislike this hijacking for that reason and wish there was a way to turn it off.

Spotify uses this and it annoys me all the time.

If you screenshot what you are listening to, after the screenshot is taken spotify will open a full-screen popup to "share" the song you are listening to. This is quite dumb, especially since if you wanted to share a song via the screenshot, you can do so in the OS-level screenshot UI, and then you would close it and see Spotify's own similar version of the same UI. Spotify just really wants you to use their own share button so that they can track you.

  • I’ve seen another app do that but for a different reason. It’s for security cameras and they use it to show a “hey idiot just press the save a picture button, don’t take screenshots” popup, which is also hostile.

    I’m not sure why the app needs to be notified. There must be some use but I can’t think of it off the top of my head.

    • Yeah it’s Snapchat. If you take a screenshot of a (potentially extremely private, intended to be ephemeral) image, it notifies the person who sent it.

      2 replies →

    • > I’m not sure why the app needs to be notified. There must be some use but I can’t think of it off the top of my head.

      My pet theory: it's because Snapchat got big early, platforms added the feature to facilitate Snapchat's business model, and then banks started abusing it, and it stuck around "because sekhurity".

      1 reply →

  • Yes, it is very annoying. But I think they are already tracking you.

    They want use to use the share button so your recipient is more likely to open Spotify (or whatever app) themselves.

Very interesting! Parent poster is correct, that notification does feel akin to a key logger… although I’m not sure that it applies to this bluesky feature.

So in this instance, am I right in understanding that iOS posts a notification after the user has completed a screenshot, which would make it impossible for the developer to use this notification to trigger anything that would modify that screenshot? Hence the developer’s work around?