Comment by noname120

5 days ago

Not true. When you create a new ChatGPT Chat project you decide whether it shares its memory/files with the rest of the workspace or if it should be fully isolated.

TIL. There is indeed a switch in the settings, which for me is set to "default memory".

Not sure if it always asked for this and I just forgot, I made all my current projects back when the feature was new.

  • FWIW, I enabled that feature now, and it still answer based on discussions in other projects. (It’s pretty obvious given the very different contents of each project.) Perhaps it might be a caching issue, that it somehow doesn’t rebuild its memory just because you flip a switch, but just stops learning new things from other projects?

    • That’s very possible and in fact until recently you couldn’t enable or disable that feature in an existing project, it was only configurable when creating a project. And for some time you couldn’t even move in and out conversations from a project configured with project-only memories/files