Comment by trombuance

3 days ago

How come? I never use private mode and assumed it simply clears cookies and history after the session ends. Is there more to it?

Every time you click on a link, your browser helpfully tells the website that the link goes to, where you come from.

Try clicking this link and see what it says :) https://www.whatismybrowser.com/detect/what-is-my-referrer/

  • It's a little more complicated than that. Even pasting the link into a new window (so no referrer) shows the image, at least after visiting the site for the first time.

    • > It's a little more complicated than that

      Keyword being "a little". It's a cookie set on previous visit.

          $ document.cookie
          > HN=1
      

      Delete the cookie, then open new tab, copy-paste the link and it works just fine. It's not rocket science, at least it didn't used to be :)