Comment by trombuance
3 days ago
How come? I never use private mode and assumed it simply clears cookies and history after the session ends. Is there more to it?
3 days ago
How come? I never use private mode and assumed it simply clears cookies and history after the session ends. Is there more to it?
Every time you click on a link, your browser helpfully tells the website that the link goes to, where you come from.
Try clicking this link and see what it says :) https://www.whatismybrowser.com/detect/what-is-my-referrer/
It's a little more complicated than that. Even pasting the link into a new window (so no referrer) shows the image, at least after visiting the site for the first time.
> It's a little more complicated than that
Keyword being "a little". It's a cookie set on previous visit.
Delete the cookie, then open new tab, copy-paste the link and it works just fine. It's not rocket science, at least it didn't used to be :)